[Personal Review] The Girl Who Sees Smells / Sensory Couple

Before I begin writing about my review for this, let me just say that I really did miss waiting and watching kdramas. I did however had the chance to watch a Japanese one whilst waiting on episodes for this one and I saw a Taiwanese one before I started watching this drama. It was a battle of patience for this one. I actually saw the trailer for this and I immediately fell in love with it but I don’t want to watch because I had to wait but I gave up because I saw the bag hug scenes in pics lol. I still had to wait since I watched when episode 10 aired.

Cast : Park Yoochun as Choi Mu Gak; Shin Se Kyung as Oh Cho Rim/ Choi Eun Seol; Nam Gung Min as Kwon Jae Hee and Yoon Jin Seo as Yeom Mi Gyeong. The cast for this drama is amazing sauce. If you guys follow me here, you all know that I’m a Chunsa and I love watching Yoochun act. When I saw him in Sungkyungkwan, I didn’t realize that he’d be the actor that he is; maybe because there are a few idols who eventually turn up to be actors and be good at it. I haven’t seen him since I Miss You and he actually surpassed his acting skills there that here, maybe because his role here isn’t as dramatically demanding but he really let go this time. His comedic side came out and I loved it. Se Kyung, oh my gosh girl… I really want to be your bff now. Lee Dong Wook in Blade Man, Tee Oh Pee or TAP in Tazza and now Yoochum. What can I say, you made em all go gaga at your characters and obviously the chemistry is there. She was real good in Blade Man in this one as well and now I shall look forward to future works.

NAM GUNG MIN, why haven’t I heard that name before. Seriously, he is the hottest serial killer I know. He is like the a mixture of Yonghwa and Changmin with Donghae’s ass, I know how it sounds and I’m not even sorry about it. You want to be angry but like they show you this scene where he’s upside down and like sweat is dripping on his half naked body and I’m like “Why SBS, WHY?!”. The weird thing is, I don’t know him and I haven’t heard about him before so it came as a shock to me why this handsome man is unknown to me. Now, Ms. Yoon Jin Seo. Omg is it just me or is she the cutest when she smiles. I love her here and I love her character being all tough yet she’s so cute and feminine when she’s with Cho Rim.

Story : What I like about this story is that it’s super spot on. No complicated sub plots that ruin the whole flow and it’s straight up just one story. It’s about the “Bar Code Murder Case”; This case involves Choi Eun Seol (both Yoochun’s sister in the drama and Shin Se Kyung’s character), Shin Se Kyung’s character however got involved in a car accident that caused her to see smells or scents. Now, I won’t give away too much of this spectacular thing but Yoochun’s character here has this thing called CIP (Congenital Insensitivity to Pain) or congenital analgesia, it’s a rare thing when a person doesn’t feel any pain or in Mu Gak’s case, he really just don’t feel anything at all. So, the two cross paths and how they end up as a couple and how the whole story goes, I will leave to the drama since I don’t want any spoilers.

Pairings :

Choi Mu Gak & Oh Cho Rim/ Choi Eun Seol (Park Yoochun & Shin Se Kyung) – Do I even have to comment? LOL. I finished the drama a few days ago and omg what do I say?… they’re cute and their kisses make this smack sound that puts a smile to my face. I loved how they didn’t really have this super complicated relationship… well except for the fact that their connection is a serial killer that totally messed up their thing for a moment. What I like about this couple (character wise) is that they’re both very unique people, they both seek for adventure plus they’re a bunch of hard headed people who don’t listen which I think makes them very compatible.

Oh Cho Rim/ Choi Eun Seol & Kwon Jae Hee (Shin Se Kyung & Nam Gung Min) – Let’s be honest, before we knew that Chef Kwon Jae Hee was a serial killer we totally wanted him and Cho Rim to be involved with each other… romantically. He’s sweet, he’s adorable, his smile is cute and he can cook, he is a chef after all. If not for his very weird, creepy and scary interest and also the fact that he wants to kill Choi Eun Seol, I totally see him as Mu Gak’s rival in Cho Rim’s heart but sadly, he is and will always will be a serial killer.

Detective Ki & Elena Vashilivnashivanova (Jo Hee Bong & Unknown) – I know I just have to put this in here. I don’t even know how to start this because Detective Ki is super duper funny and he isn’t really doing an effort to do so. The actor, Mr. Jo Hee Bong is amazing as Cheon Song Yi’s CEO in YWCFTS and he’s super duper funny in this one as well especially the way he says Elena’s full name and when he says goodnight in Russian. These two kinda had that misunderstanding in the drama but in the end, they met up and had that happy ending. It’s too cute xD.

Choi Mu Gak & Yeom Mi Gyeong (Park Yoochun & Yoon Jin Seo) – Technically this pairing isn’t too romantic, let’s just make this a working relationship type. I do like how these two work out as a team and their ideas and how their minds work are super cool in a way that they fit. Detective Yeom is responsible for Mu Gak’s “promotion” and I’m sure that she didn’t regret her decision.

OST : The OST for this drama is LOVE. Even before I started watching, I was hooked to one of the tracks of the song which is 아리송해 by Juvie of Sunny Hill and Jang Yi Jung of History (Part 1 of OST) and then when I started watching, I got hooked to 2 more songs which are; 우연히 봄 by Loco and Yoo Joo [omg that’s Chun and my name combined *^^*]of GFRIEND (Part 2) and 저기요 by Jelly Cookie (Part 8)… This song is too cute, I got hooked to it and looked for it in my list since I got Parts 1-7 already but what I didn’t know is that they released two more parts. I might review the whole OST for this, I’m not sure yet.

My Thoughts : After a long break, I give this drama a 4.5/5, reason being; 1. It was unique and I do give credit for the original creator of this webtoon, OMG you are awesome and kudos to you for coming up with this great idea.; 2. It was a steady plot but I was looking for some history on Chef. Serial Killer to as why he was killing people, We did get a bit of that but it wasn’t that clear.; and Lastly, It was a good mystery/thriller but it’s not that scary and it isn’t too dramatic. I did like the balance of it all and it got like 2 – 4 episodes of legit crying from both parties but it’s not much of a heavy drama which is good.

It felt good to watch a good Kdrama again, I missed this feeling and I think I might go back to watching some more. I’m looking at 6 more dramas to watch; 3 of those are Kdramas, 2 Tdramas and 1 Jdrama. I don’t know when it’ll take me to finish it all but I do hope I can come back and review another drama soon. With this, I do have a Tdrama review coming up in a few days. I haven’t finished writing it yet but it’ll come LOL. Happy Watching ^^v

Leave a Reply

